current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-05-25 - 7:03 p.m.
My New Camry!

Until Saturday, anyway.

Instead of an excursion to Wild Adventures this afternoon after the dentist appointment, we stopped by a Toyota Dealership. Kim and I are talking about getting a car soon. For me, this means probably after Bailyn starts back to school, we should parlay the $70/week day camp money into a car payment. For Kim, this means we talk about it until A) we are old and gray and neither of us can see to drive anymore or B) one of our current vehicles craps out and forces us to move forward. Fortunately or unfortunately, with the age of both vehicles and the high mileage, the chances of B happening in the next year or 2 are fairly certain. I mean, my Honda is pushing 200K miles. I know they're good cars, but they can only go so long....and his POS truck...let's not even go there.

So, anyway...I stop off at this dealership. Of course, a salesman is there practically helping me out of the car before I can get my seatbelt off. I tell him we'll probably be buying in a couple of months and explain that I am in the earliest preliminary stages of shopping: trying to decide WHAT I want. Right now, I have a 4 door Accord. Nice, but I may want an extended cab truck...or a small SUV...or even {gasp} a 4 door sedan. I just don't know. Salesman Jethro latches on to a Camry, and goes and gets the keys and pulls it out of the line. He then starts under the hood and goes thru all the "selling points." I wait patiently thru his 15+ minute spiel and then ask how many books he had to read to memorize all that. He kind of blushes and says, "A few...and a couple of videos, too." I roar with laughter. Seriously...it was so rehearsed. So then I ask for the bottom line. He passes me to Sales Manager Tull.

SM Tull is rather pushy. I'm uncomfortable. I didn't see that coming. I mean, I show up preliminary shopping, and this guy wants me to drive off in brand new 2005 Toyota Camry. Wow. Who knew?! But he's really nice....a great guy, who's willing to do ANYTHING to make my happy. Really?! Cool, I've always wondered how mustaches feel down there, and you have one, so...? Oops, that's not what he meant. I feel like such a fool. Apparently, he was thinking more along the lines of the dealership making my payments until August AND giving me a $500 discount IN ADDITION TO the $1500 Toyota rebate on Camrys, which is, incidentally, the HIGHEST Toyota has ever offered...and it's only good for the month of May. Come June 1, they may do away with the rebate. Damn, I'm in a pickle. What to do? I've looked at exactly 1 car, and I'm without my husband...but it's such a GOOD DEAL. I'm sorry, SM Tull, but I'd be pissed if hubby made such a decision without consulting me. So THEN he tells me to bring it home and show it to him. Nope, that's awful nice of you, but I have to work until 5 tomorrow and Friday. There's no way I could bring it back those days. So he says to bring it back Saturday and he'll fill it up with gas. Hmm...he's really trying to make up for the mustache thing. OK, dude, you've got a deal. I will take your brand new car with a full tank of gas, drive it for 3 days, and bring it back to you. You drive a hard bargain, but...

So I throw Bailyn's booster seat in the front passenger's seat (the automatic weight sensor airbag control thingie really IS cool) and head toward Moultrie. An hour later, I pull into the garage. Kim is outside, and looks at me like I'm driving a spaceship. I get out and he says, "Get back in and take that mother fucker back where you got it from." I crack up and tell him I'm not driving back to Valdosta tonight and that it's ours until Saturday. Then I tell him the whole story. He listens semi-patiently and then asks, "Did you sign ANYTHING?" Apparently, he thinks I've been somehow duped into buying a car without realizing it. How stupid does this man think I am?! Seriously! The bigger question is: Why did he marry someone he thinks is at least moderately retarded?! I don't get it.

So, anyway...I have a nice car to drive for a couple of days. I liked having Bailyn next to me and the absence of junk piled in every available seat and floorboard. Other than that, I didn't really see a huge difference. Oh, I'm sure that it LOOKED tons nicer than the terribly peeling paint on the Honda...and it moved when you hit the gas instead of lagging and slipping for a few seconds...and the windshield sprayers worked....But, really there's no difference. *sniff*

last - next



0 comments so far