current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-09-04 - 12:22 a.m.
Flash Cards

Oops. It was just pointed out to me that in my last post (read it first), I forgot to explain my brilliant idea for computerized flash cards for Bailyn's sight words. First, I set her profile on the PC to use a My Pictures screen saver with 6 seconds between picture changes. The teacher sends the words home on plain white paper. I use my graphics program to make simple images with different colored backgrounds, different sizes, and different fonts. When it's time to practice, I go set the kitchen timer for 10 minutes, and call her to do her words. We sit down in front of the computer and she reads whatever random image the PC displays. Quick, simple, and not as boring as plain white cards that get all bent up. If there is a word she's having trouble with, I make more images with that word, so it gets displayed more frequently.

Now tell me that wasn't a stroke of genius?!

last - next



0 comments so far