current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-10-04 - 9:42 p.m.
Prettier Pink and Gymnastics

I'm not finished yet, but I'm in the process on sponge painting Bailyn's room with a much lighter shade of pink. I'm dabbing heavily and kinda moving the sponge when I touch the wall to create a softer, feathered look. So far, it's looking really nice. I think it'll turn out to be perfect. She gets TWO shades of pink, and the room loses its "Wow...this is PINK" look. Looking at the section that isn't done yet and comparing it to the section that I've sponged is amazing. It's a small room and the PINK made it much smaller. It was very overwhelming...almost suffocating. You still get that feeling when you look at the PINK section. The sponged pink opens it up a LOT. It's very light and airy. I think the result comes from the textured appearance along with the lighter color. All in all, very nice. I'm pleased with it. Can't wait to finish it. I'll post another pic when I'm through.

On a completely different note, Bailyn started back in gymnastics today. Her behavior at school has been wonderful for a month now. I think spending that week in her room with nothing to do but stare at her {off-white} walls gave her plenty of time to decide that she wasn't interested in repeating the experience any time soon. It was drastic and Kim and I HATED keeping her penned up, but it has certainly had more of an effect than the borderline-beating spanking I felt cornered into dishing out in Pre-K when she was so out of control and hitting and kicking the teacher. Our Kindergarten teacher kept us in the loop from the beginning when her behavior was bad, and after 2 weeks of her testing the limits daily, we intervened with the drastic week-long restriction. Since then, she has had no misbehavior to speak of. Of course, there's the occasional reprimand, but she's a kid! After making it a month, we decided to allow her back in gymanstics (she had to quit in pre-K when was misbehaving) and she was so happy. She had a blast! Of course, terrible mother that I am, I forgot to take pics. I'll try to get some next week....

last - next



0 comments so far