current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-12-05 - 7:33 a.m.
Harry and the Goblet

Kim FINALLY finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, so we were able to see the movie yesterday. As I expected, it was OK. Not spectacular, but not horrible either. What else can you expect when you try to cram nearly 800 pages into a 2 1/2 hour movie?!

Going into it, I knew Molly Weasley had been cut from the movie. I was OK with that. Seeing the movie, her absence was GLARING. If Mike Newell didn't want to take the time to explain her character, there were many scenes where she could have unobtrusively appeared in the crowd (such as the third task...Mr. Weasley was obviously there). Those new to the movies would have paid her no attention. Those of us who know her would have noticed Mrs. Weasley. I also think she should have been outside the house waving goodbye when the group left for the Quidditch World Cup. Again, no wasted time on an intro....just her quiet presence. Hell, as far as that goes, cut 30 seconds from the dragon scene and give the bitch some dialogue. Bad decision, Mike Newell.

Now, I know it sounds as though I hated the movie. I didn't. I was just really really annoyed at that one omission. The rest of the movie was well done. It jumped around a lot, but again...800 pages in 2 1/2 hours. Bailyn liked the beginning and the end....she took a nap (and drooled on my arm) during the middle, so she has no opinion on that part.

Kim didn't have much to say about it other than, "It was OK." He started reading Order of the Phoenix when we got home, so I'm not sure if that is an endorsement of the movie or the books. I can't get a good evaluation of the books from him, either. Any time I ask, he says, "They're pretty good." Must be a man thing.

last - next



0 comments so far