current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2006-05-17 - 7:37 a.m.
Mishmash of Updates

*Bailyn is almost through with Kindergarten. Thank God. It's been a rough year. I do NOT believe that Bailyn needs meds, and her teacher is still practically forcing it down our throats. Every time I start to waver, Kim reminds me that we've made the right decision for Bailyn. Some kids may need to be medicated, but Bailyn is not one of them. Bailyn simply needs to be engaged in whatever is being taught.

* The work/family conflict has become an all out war for me lately. With missing Bailyn's dance recital portraits because of a major virus outbreak that brought the entire network (all 4 hospitals and countless doctor's offices, etc) to its knees and missing her last ballet class this past Monday because the pharmacy was having trouble with their printer, I'm really feeling ripped in two. I love my job, but I love my family more. Soooo....why do I seem to choosing work over family time after time? Thank God my boss is a mother and understands exactly how I feel. Yesterday, I made the statement, "What am I going to choose if something comes up this Friday and interferes with Dress Rehearsal? Or Saturday, during the recital? I say there's no way in Hell I'd miss either of them, but if I really had to choose, what would I do?" She let me know that I would not only be allowed to leave, but that I would be forced to leave. Again, thank God I have a boss who understands the conflict.

More to come later (maybe tomorrow).

last - next



0 comments so far