current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2006-05-25 - 7:02 a.m.
Last Day of Kindergarten...

...And other random updates.

Today is Bailyn's last day of Kindergarten. I had the end of the year conference with her teacher yesterday. Her teacher is about to retire. She said Bailyn has been an absolute joy and an absolute nightmare. Apparently, Bailyn can be so incredibly sweet one minute and so incredibly trying the next. She said Bailyn decides to push the envelope. It isn't an uncontrollable behavioral problem. It is a conscious decision on Bailyn's part. Yeah, I knew all of that. What I wasn't aware of is that the teacher strongly considered filing an SSt or whatever that thing is called to get a team together to work on Bailyn's behavior. She chose not to do so, though. She said that she did not believe that Bailyn would benefit from this, partially because it would probably land her in an EIP classroom next year, which would be the completely wrong thing to do. She pointed out that Bailyn doesn't act out in a rage or behave agressively toward other children like the true bahavior problems do. She is, quite simply, a turd. LOL. Yep, that pretty much sums it up. It might have hurt my feelings if she hadn't said it with such affection.

OK, now for the other updates:
Exchange Student
I am getting serious cold feet. I'm not thinking of backing out, exactly. I'm getting scared of having a teen in the house. I get really bad between calls/emails, and then I talk to her and she's so sweet, and I remember that she's a good kid. Maybe the Yahoo groups full of nightmare exchange stories are doing more harm than good?!

Injured Foot
I hurt my foot chasing Kim's dog in January. Finally gave in and went to the doc a few weeks ago. Diagnosis: Semi-Permanent Tendon Injury. Nice. She gave me a "Figure-8 ankle brace." Yeah, it's a gloried ace bandage with velcro.

Bailyn's Dance Recital
It went wonderfully. She did a great job on stage. No stage fright whatsoever. She got out there and did her thing like she belonged up there. I was half-disappointed when she decided that she wasn't going to do ballet next year. She said she wants to go back to gymnastics. I told her that was fine, as long as she went to the director and apologized for her past behavior. Like I told her, it wasn't me running all over the gym and I wasn't going to be the one apologizing and promising to do better. If she wants to do gymnastics, she's going to have to handle it. She said she would.

Kim & Me
Doing great. Nothing to report. We're working on the house. Re-caulking and re-painting the outside trim. Tons of fun.


Guess that's it for now! I'm going to try really hard to get better with the updates. I promise!!

last - next



0 comments so far