current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2006-09-11 - 9:46 p.m.
The Jungle Book Audition

Golly gee whiz. Where has the time gone? My itty bitty Bailyn is now solidly a grown-up first-grader. She went to an audition tonight for the annual kid's production at the county Arts Center. OK, OK. Considering that all children in grades 1-9 who show up at the audition are in the cast, she signed up to be in the local play. So it's not so freaking extraordinary. I'm still as proud as I can possibly be. It's not what she did so much as how she did it. At first, she was intimidated by all the other kids (nearly all of them quite a bit older) and the fact that she had to do stuff with everyone watching her. After spending the first little bit looking at the floor with her fingers in her mouth, she got into it and started to let her personality shine through. She was terrific. She did everything the director asked of her - and she did it well. They were taught a little dance (the opening steps of "Wanna be Like You") and she learned and performed it as well as the older kids. I just can't tell you how proud I am!!

There are only 15 speaking roles and 60-70 kids there, so I am going to be shocked if she gets a speaking role. I'm assuming the speaking roles will go to the older children....simply because they have more experience in drama and in life itself. I'm not much concerned about her getting a speaking role. I'm thrilled that she got out there and gave it her best shot. Without a speaking role, she'll be just singing and dancing. That's what she wants to do anyway. (Yeah, I admit I don't really want the stress of having to help her learn her lines in addition to her nightly homework.) Call backs will be sometime this week. Not expecting to get one, so we'll find out what part she got next Tuesday. She wants to be one of the monkeys, so cross your fingers!

last - next



0 comments so far