current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2008-11-04 - 8:34 a.m.
I voted.

We got up early this morning. I was going to vote, and I wanted Bailyn to go with me. We left the house at 6:45 and were waiting at the door when they opened. I took Bailyn into the booth with me and cast my vote. She watched and read as I made my voice count. We both got a sticker and put it on our shirts to loudly proclaim that we are proud to have a democracy that allows us to speak up. No matter what your political opinions are, I implore you - make your voice count. It matters, and not every country is as fortunate as we are.

Only....don't do as the man who was exiting the poll as I walked up to the booth. He loudly proclaimed to the booth worker that he was done. "It was choice between chocolate and vanilla, so it required no thought at all." WHAT?! Did you just freely admit to everyone in this building that you voted for McCain simply because he's white?! That is freaking sickening. I knew a lot of people were going to do this, but I wasn't prepared for it to be something to be worn as a badge of honor. Well, ya know....I had to vote for Obama because we both have dark hair. What? It's silly to vote for someone based on their hair color? Yeah, OK. It is. It's also silly to vote based on skin color.

last - next



0 comments so far