current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2008-11-25 - 5:51 p.m.
Trip to Borders

Bailyn and I were chillin' at the mall yesterday. Her appt with the pediatric dentist was at 11:10 in a town an hour away. BTW, Kim thinks it's ludicrous to travel an hour to take her to the dentist when there are perfectly good dentists here. Yes, but this is a PEDIATRIC dentist. They deal with nothing but tiny grills - all day, every day. A general dentist deals with grills of all sizes, which could put him at a disadvantage in spotting issues that tend to crop up in the little grills, whereas the pediatric dentist would spot it immediately. It's the same reason we take her to a pediatrician instead of a family doctor. I ask him if he would see a general doctor if he'd broken a bone. He says no. Of course he'd go to an orthopedist. Then I point out that it the same thing. A general doctor would be able to identify and cast a broken bone without much trouble, but the orthopedist would be much more proficient in treating it. Duh.

Sorry - got off track. Anyway, since her appointment was in the middle of the day, I decided to take the whole day instead of trying to rush back for her to possibly make the last hour of school and me make a couple of hours at work. Bailyn wanted to cruise the mall, since that city has a real mall. Getting in, grabbing what you need, and getting the hell out is more my style, but what the heck?! She wanted to look around. What's it gonna hurt? She puts in to go the bookstore. Ahhh...that's right up my alley. Much better than browsing through clothes! We spent quite a bit of time there. I was wondering around, and she was looking at her age books. I went into the Christian section to see if I could find a book my mother would like for Christmas. Surprisingly, neither I nor the books spontaneously burst into flames. I found a book I thought she'd like and turned around to leave that section and I'm staring at an endcap of Complete Idiot's Guides. Front and Center is The Complete Idiot's Guide to Computer Basics.

See, now, Kim and I are Information Systems professionals. MIL is a complete computer dumbass. She's frequently calling a panic about this or that. I was so extraordinarily tempted to buy it for MIL. I mean, really. The temptation was almost overwhelming. Not only can I innocently claim that I thought it would have useful tips for her...but get to revel in the fact that I called her an idiot and her not really be able to call me on it. LOL. In the end, I behaved myself. However, visualizing the scenario was quite enjoyable. Cheers.

last - next



2 comments so far


Kitty - 2008-11-26 00:34:34
I agree on the dentist thing. It just makes sense! lol about the MIL computer thing.
-------------------------------
Terri T. - 2008-11-26 19:21:30
I understand about the pediatric dentist and if your daughter likes the dentist; it makes it all good. I think you should have purchased that Idiot Book...they really are helpful and it might make for a good birthday gift if you are so inclined.
-------------------------------