current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-09-09 - 7:34 a.m.
Random Musings of a Car-Shopper

On the radio this morning, I heard a VERY interesting car ad. It was an X Kia spot. I say X because I have no clue who it was...I didn't pay attention to that, so right there, the ad failed, right? Granted, I NORMALLY tune out the hysterical yelling of furniture and car ads, but this one got my attention (or maybe I was half-listening because we're car-shopping, who knows?!). It had a glaring red light shining into my ear. Toward the end of the ad praising their low, low prices, they said, "We'll beat any Kia competitor's advertised price by $500 or send you home in a Kia FREE!!" Um, how sweet. That's nice. Thank you. Let me start searching Kia dealerships and find the lowest ADVERTISED price (which, needless to say, is always jacked up) and run to X Kia. I'll bet they can't beat it, so they'll send me home in a free new car!!! Right. I can just see Car Saleman Doofy at X Kia going to his sales manager and saying, "Gee, Manager Goofy, we have a problem. I have this customer outside who has an ad from Y Kia. Did you know they're selling the '06 Rio for $8999?! There's no way we can beat that by $500, is there?! We're going to have to give this customer a free car!" And Manager Goofy promptly fires Car Salesman Doofy simply for being the dumbest fucker in the world.

All applications accepted! How generous! Of course they're ACCEPTED! The real question is: How many are APPROVED?

Push, pull, or drive your trade! We'll give you $4000 for it, no matter what! Yes, we certainly will. We'll also jack the price of your new car up $5000 to cover the cost of giving you the $4000 and an extra $1000 just for the hassle of disposing of your piece of shit.

And wtf is up with the Everybody Gets Employee Pricing PLUS Additional Discounts crap?! I'll bet the employees are loving THAT. "Man...the general public gets OUR price, with additional dough knocked off. I'm gonna quit my job, so I can buy a car for a lower price." "No, George, don't! They're not REALLY getting our price. Don't tell anyone, but it's a GIMMICK." "Really, Fred?! Wow, those guys in Marketing are SLICK." See? Aren't you glad I put a bug in the employee lounge at GM plant?! We have the inside scoop now.

Seriously, c'mon. Do people really fall for these stupid-ass gimmicks? It's SO annoying. I hate car shopping, because the salesmen swoop in like freaking vultures and try to put you in the car that THEY want you in. Kim and I explain that we want a USED '04-05, and without fail, the salesman starts singing the glories of a NEW '05 or '06. I do NOT want a new car. I want something someone drove for a little while and traded in for something new. I don't want to take the major depreciation hit of buying a new vehicle. I'd much rather let someone else do that for me. Kim has devised an ingenious shopping plan. We now scope out the lot while they're closed. If we see something we wanna talk about, we go back when they're open and discuss ONLY the car we liked, not what they may want to put us in. We want a Corolla or a Civic, so we're doing much more scoping than talking. We've gone to all the lots in our town and a neighboring town. We're coming back over here where I work tonight to hit all the lots here. We have the mindset that we'll shop until we find the perfect car or die trying...we're not going to allow some sleazy car guy talk us in to anything. Fun, fun!

last - next



0 comments so far