current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-09-10 - 4:13 p.m.
The stork delivered....

A 2000 lb. bouncing silver Civic. Yep, we bought our new baby. It's a 4-door '03 Civic LX. No, it doesn't really bounce. It's a smooth ride. We love it. We've just gotten home. We left the house this AM around 10 and spent a couple of hours or so haggling over a USED '05 Corolla S at the Toyota dealership before walking away from the deal. Hilarious...the salesman followed us out (we weren't mad...just not gonna overextend ourselves and that was that) and threw in a last ditch attempt, "$17500! Do we have a deal?" No, I'm sorry. We don't. We stretched up to $16500 and refused to go a penny higher. He was funny, taking the "I'm your best friend and the sales manager is trying to make our lives hell" act to the extreme. At one point, he had a fake temper outburst and said, "I just don't know how much longer I'm going to be working here, with the way they are about these prices!" No kidding. I nearly died laughing. I guess living with that guy (a professional car salesman, now a finance manager at a dealership) before I had Bailyn has its perks. Kim and I talked about ol' Artie quite a bit today. For example, I was aware that when the salesman left the office, he wasn't REALLY going to the sales manager to battle on our behalf. He may have stopped by the sales manager's office, but it was to gab and grab-ass for a few minutes. The salesmen know what the TRUE bottom line is.

In the end, we wound up at the Honda Dealership buying our Civic. When the dude started filling out the paper, I pointed to the "money" column and said, "You can put whatever you like in these boxes, but the number at the bottom needs to be $14500." He immediately stopped writing numbers and wrote my demand on it and ran away (naturally!). He came back with a bottom line of $152xx and free tires for life and said that was best they could do. I said 15, and he wrote a thing on the page that said "Customer will buy today at $15000 bottom line" and had us sign it. Then he took out a credit app (notice he didn't go "talk" again...makes me think they'd have done 14500 if we'd made out like we were leaving, but it's OK) and filled it out. Ages later, we finished with the finance manager and they were working on detailing it, so Bai and I left to pick up food with the intent to meet Kim back at home. About 30 minutes after we got home, he drove up.

All in all, it was a great experience. I was VERY impressed with the staff at Thomasville Honda. They were extremely considerate and accomodating...the saleswoman helping our guy out (he was relatively new) was VERY helpful toward Kim, but that's fine....I'm perfectly willing to pimp him out to get a better deal. Don't worry about him, though. He's willing to take one for the team, especially since she was "pretty damn sexy with those glasses on." He requested the responsibility of taking the car in for service when it's due. I have to wonder if the car is the only thing going in for a servicing... ;o)

last - next



0 comments so far