current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-09-17 - 11:18 p.m.
Girl Scouts

My little one is officially a Daisy Scout! We went to the library this afternoon and were headed down the hall to the kiddie section to find Bailyn her usual six books, when I saw a "Girl Scout Meeting" sign on one of the conference room doors. A while back, Kim and I had discussed the possibility of her joining, so I went in to talk to the troop leader. She was great! Friendly and enthusiastic, talking about how she's been a troop leader for 3 years and does it because she just LOVES the girls.

She told me some of the stuff she has planned, like the Flag Day celebration, Fall Party, Christmas parade, and the Black History Month parade (haven't told Kim about that one yet....his reaction will likely be on the "slightly" negative side). Sounds like the girls have a blast, and they earn their badges in the meetings. They meet at the library on the first and third Saturdays of each month from 3-5, so it fits into our schedule nicely. Bailyn had a blast at her first meeting, and I'm so excited. It's good for her to be involved in something so character building. Maybe she'll make some good friends, unlike the whiny girls (my friend's kids) she's usually stuck playing with. I'd LOVE for her to have some healthy friendships, and Girl Scouts seems to be the perfect place to make it happen!

last - next



0 comments so far