current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-10-14 - 7:31 a.m.
Separation of church and state?

Apparently, Bailyn's teacher is praying with the class. She first mentioned this a while back. I listened carefully and asked some questions, but decided to let it go because it sounded like they might be just saying a simple blessing before lunch.

Based on the conversation we had last night over dinner, I am now certain that it is going beyond a simple blessing. It sounds like it's getting very close to Bible stories (if not already there), and the teacher is apparently questioning the students on their home religious habits. Among other things, Bailyn commented that we have to say a blessing so "Jesus will know we love him." She also told me she wanted to say a blessing at home because everyone else in her class does. I told her that a lot of them probably do, but not everyone.

Now I realize that I live in the Bible Belt, but (unless I missed an important news announcement) this type of behavior in a public school is illegal. I realize that I could storm over to the Board of Education and throw a hissy fit. I just don't think that would have a very positive effect on Bailyn, though. I don't want to ostracize her in any way, and I have the distinct impression that it won't take much for Bailyn's teacher to decide she doesn't like Bailyn. She seems like the really petty type who would take it out on Bailyn if I (a)go to her personally and request that she stop the blessings/talkings (because Bailyn isn't a Christian) or (b)went to the principle about it (because I went over her head).

I haven't decided what I'm going to do. I want to handle this carefully, but it must be handled. It just makes me sick that I have to be dealing with this.

last - next



0 comments so far