current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-11-09 - 7:19 a.m.
Mommy, there's a giant woach in here!

I was in the bathroom putting on my makeup, and Bailyn was in the laundry room picking out her clothes. (Yes, I KNOW I should have put them in her closet after I finished hanging them! I'll get to it. I will!) She yelled, "Mommy, there's a giant woach in here!" I walked in to see. Sure enough, that f%&@er was big enough to take over the house. Well, I'm not messing with it. "Barbie! Here, kitty, kitty, kitty!" She comes trotting in, no doubt knowing that she was about to get some fun, since that's the only time we call her like that. As she comes around the corner, she looks at me and then where I'm pointing. Immediately, she crouches down in quick-stalk mode. Bai and I return to our regularly scheduled activities as she approaches the "giant woach."

I go back to the bathroom and Bailyn drops her clothes off on her bed before coming to pee. She's sitting on the toilet when Barbie brings the woach in the bathroom. Guess she didn't want to play with her new toy alone. The woach starts scuttling around with Barbie toying with it. I tell Bailyn that I'm trusting that Barbie won't let it get on me and turn back to my makeup. Seconds later...you guessed it. I feel something on my foot. (To picture this next scene, keep in mind that our bathrooms are microscopic.) I yell and jump out of my skin. I frantically shake the damn thing off my foot and tell Barbie that she needs to keep her critters under control. She rushes over and scoops it up and takes it into the hall.

As I'm turning back to the mirror, I hear a sniffle behind me and realize that Bailyn hasn't commented about the roach getting on me. I ask her what's wrong, and she says that I kicked her. I assume she meant that I hit her leg when I was shaking my foot. I turn around as she looks up at me....with blood on her lips and chin. I grab some toilet tissue to blot the blood so I can assess the damage. Her bottom lip is a little messed up, but nothing ER-worthy. I go get a washcloth and wet it with cold water so she can press that on her mouth. I ask her again what happened. She says I kicked her. Now, I KNOW I didn't get my foot up that high. She was looking at a boo-boo on her thumb just before the woach got on me, so maybe I knocked her hand into her mouth when I jumped.

I laid her on the couch with her washcloth and a blanket and turned on Discovery Kids. As I'm walking back down the hall to complete my (usually 5-minute) makeup job. Barbie is crouched down outside my bedroom door. I guess the woach squeezed its big ass through the crack. Kim's still sleeping, so I'm not about to open the door for Barbie to go collect her woach. She stays crouched down in front of the door, just waiting while I finish my running around and getting dressed.

Just before I leave, Bailyn decides that she is going to survive and gets up to go eat her breakfast. I hug and kiss her and head toward the door, just as Barbie trots back up the hall carrying her prize. I keep going. I've really had enough of "woaches" for one morning.

last - next



0 comments so far