current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-11-21 - 7:49 a.m.
ADHD

Make sure you check the past entries. I posted Part 2 of the Vibrating Couch story.
______________

Bailyn is having behavior problems at school again/still. She's such a turd. During math, she randomly calls out numbers. During reading, she wiggles and dances around the table. Her teacher suggested that she may have ADHD and mentioned that foul R word. Now, don't get me wrong. I think medication can be a wonderful thing. I just think teachers and parents are way too quick to reach for the quick fix. I'm trying really hard to be objective. Bailyn DOES have a problem and she IS disrupting the other children in class. We have to fix this. I just don't see that turning her into a little zombie is the right thing to do. She is very creative, and she has a very vivid imagination. She's also very energetic. These are strengths I don't want to kill. She is a very smart child....a wonderful problem solver. She likes to read. She just doesn't like to sit still and focus on something that doesn't really interest her. I'm trying really hard to find a good solution. It's such a hard line to walk. Sometimes I think meds would be good. Other times, I think she needs to learn to control herself without meds. Ro, Good Teacher, do you have any suggestions?

last - next



0 comments so far