current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2005-12-14 - 8:18 p.m.
Bailyn Ivey Rowe

OK, this past summer was the 1 Year Anniversary of Bailyn being adopted by her dad. Her sperm donor/person who donated nothing more than genes and stress signed away his rights so he could get out from under the child support. Most loving thing he's ever done for the child, but this story isn't about him.

When I changed jobs in August, we all switched over to Kim's insurance. They wanted proof of relationship for Bailyn and me. I handed over a copy of the marriage certificate and realized the lawyer never got us a copy of Bailyn's birth certificate in her new name. I sent a money order to the Probate Court in her birth city. A week later, the MO is returned saying that they don't have a Bailyn Ivy Rowe. I call them and they have a Bailyn Ivy Veatch. Grrrr. Stupid-ass lawyer never filed the name change with Atlanta. I call him up and he tries to say that isn't his problem. I let him know in no uncertain terms that as soon as the judge signed the papers, I asked if there was anything Kim and I needed to do and he said he'd handle it all. (We already knew he didn't handle it all, because there was a serious issue with the child support not being stopped. That's another long story....maybe another day on that one). He backpeddled and said he'd take care of it. That was in September. I went ahead and sent a copy of the adoption papers to Kim's insurance, because it takes 6-8 weeks for Atlanta to process the paperwork.

I got Bailyn's new birth certificate in the mail today. Well, wouldn't you know it's fucked up?! They changed my last name on there and changed her last name. They got all the father's info right. In fact, everything they were SUPPOSED to change was perfect. It was the stuff they didn't need to mess with that was cause for concern. For whatever reason, they changed my DOB from August 29 to August 9. They also changed her middle name from Ivy to Ivey. AAAAARRRRRGGGGG!!! For about 3/10 of a second, I considered letting it ride. I just couldn't tolerate the thought. If I had wanted her name to be Bailyn Ivey, I would have named her Bailyn Ivey. For whatever reason, I don't think Ivey looks as pretty with Bailyn. I proceeded to email the lawyer asking him what needs to be done to fix this. WHY do people fuck with me?!

last - next



0 comments so far