current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2006-01-07 - 8:49 p.m.
First contact with our exchange student

I've been waiting to get the full packet with all Rebecca's info, so I could get her email address and email the child. I guess it never crossed my mind that her first move after getting OUR info and reading all about us and our town, etc. would be to email US!! We still haven't gotten our packet yet, so imagine my surprise when I checked my email this morning and had the following message:

Dear Kim, Sherry and Bailyn

Today I recieved your photo's and letter! I was so excited! I can't wait to
get to Georgia!
Unfortunately this is gonna take a couple of months, but in the mean time we
can e-mail and call each other!
I am so excited to get to know you better, and learn all about your rules
and activities! And ofcourse I have questions for you, but I'm sure you have
a lot of questions for me too.

I read in the community description that there are a lot of good mexican
restaurants there, I heve never eaten mexican so I'm looking forward to try
that!
In the letter you wrote I read that Bailyn will start ballet lessons in
August, I hope there is an opportunity for me also to continue with ballet.
I am curious about my highschool and in wich grade I'll be placed, I hope it
will be 12th grade, because I really want to experience prom!
And I am also looking forward to a real american christmas! We celebrate
christmas, but we only have al very small christmas tree decorated.And
ofcourse I can't wait to experience halloween and thingsgiving, because we
don't celebrate that here in Holland!

And I loved the photo's you send me! You all seem so nice!And Bailyn seems
so sweet I can't wait to experience a life with a little sister!
when I get the chance I will send you some more photographs about me, my
family and wher I live!
I hope I can send them this week to you, I don't know how long it will take
the mail to get them to you.

I hope to hear from you soon!
With lots of love,
Rebecca


She put her mailing address at the bottom, but for obvious reasons, I'm not going to include it here. It was interesting though - the format wasn't what I expected. Not sure what I WAS expecting, but that wasn't it. I looked up international mailing address formats to make sure she wrote it right, and she did. I love her already. She's wonderful. I can't wait to get her here!!!

last - next



0 comments so far