current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2006-08-11 - 7:16 p.m.
The First Week

I seriously can't believe it's already been a week!! It seems like only a couple of days, at most! Things are still going wonderfully. She's a great kid, and we love her very much. We have come across a few cultural differences....not negative comparisons, just differences.

The telephone: They answer the phone with a nice "Hi, this is ________." They feel that it is the responsibility of the answerer to identify themselves first. Americans answer with a "Hello?" and leave it up to the caller to identify themselves. I told her that it is considered very rude to call someone and ask who they are when the phone is picked up.

Changing clothes: They wear the same outfit for 2-3 days. I told Rebecca that she must change every day, or the kids at school will make fun of her.

Dutch candy: I can't say it or spell it, but she brought some specific type of candy with her that everyone in the Netherlands loves. I nearly puked. Seriously. It was that bad. I was queasy for a loooong while after I ate it.


That's all I can think of right now. She has already made friends and is out for the evening. We are going shopping tomorrow for more clothes, since she now has to change every day. ;o)

last - next



0 comments so far