current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2007-01-22 - 8:34 p.m.
School Rant

Bailyn's homework for today:
1) Write 100 Words that start with S (for 100th Day)
2) Write her 12 spelling words 3 times each
3) Do her daily reading comprehension worksheet
4) Read her AR book and be ready for a computerized test on it tomorrow
5) Practice her math facts flash cards
6) Take CRCT practice tests online

We didn't get to 5 or 6. From 4:00 to 7:30, we spent our time working on 1-4. Granted, we took several breaks to allow Bailyn to go off and do her thing before I'd harness her again. I'm very, VERY proud of myself for keeping the marathon homework session upbeat and happy. I suppose I'm a terrible mother because I didn't get her through everything. Oh fucking well. She put in an amazing effort and tried her very hardest the entire time we were working. By 7:30, she was tired. She was still working hard, but her little mind and body were both exhausted. I wasn't about to push her any further. She's 6 years old. Even if she was 16, I wouldn't want her to put in that much time for freaking homework. I am so proud of my little trooper. She is making a conscious effort to apply herself and improve in her schoolwork. I can see it all over her. It's amazing how determined she is to do better. She's aware that her reading is especially lacking, and she's working hard on it. Can you tell I'm proud of her? ;o)

last - next



0 comments so far