current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2007-04-29 - 10:34 a.m.
Broken Finger

Things got a bit interesting last Wednesday evening. We have a steep hill just down the road from our house. Against my preaching, Bailyn decided to go down it on her bike. Didn't work out for her too well. She's (we're) very lucky that a bunch of scrapes and bruises and a broken finger is all she got. From the story I was told, she rolled several times after she hit the ground. The woman who lives in the house down there brought her home. It's a good thing I didn't see it happen. They'd probably still have me sedated. Very scary when you think about how bad it could have been. She's getting a bicycle helmet before she starts riding her bike again.

She was a trooper. I didn't even realize that she was really hurt at first. I thought she was just scraped up. I took her to the bathroom to clean her up. When I started to put her hand under the water, I noticed the finger and started to wig out. We took her to Urgent Care. They X-rayed it and said that the tip of the pinky bone was chipped off and that they'd send it to the hospital for the radiologist to read the next morning and they'd call me if the radiologist found something else. They called Thursday morning and said that the radiologist saw a hairline fracture in addition to the chipped off piece at the tip. We have an appt with an orthopedic doctor next Friday. They said they want to give it a week to calcify so they'll be able to see the fracture more clearly, and they'll also be able to tell how it's healing. She is in a splint right now. The doc may put her in a hand cast when we see him next Friday, or he may leave her in a splint for several weeks.

Her pinky is swollen more than twice the usual size and the whole thing is purple. She's a tough cookie, though...went to school on only Motrin Thursday and nothing at all Friday. I gave her Tylenol w/ Codeine Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday night, but she's been acting OK overall. I didn't give anything at all for pain last night, but I gave her some Motrin yesterday morning. She only complains of pain when she bumps it, which is a couple of times a day. She's just so rough and tumble!! I'm hoping they'll put it in a cast for a few weeks. With the way she is, that's the only way to really protect it! I'll update again Friday!

last - next



0 comments so far