current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2007-05-06 - 9:25 a.m.
Finger Update and Summer Camp

OK, last week was a bit interesting. Bailyn originally had an appointment with an orthopedic doctor on Friday. She also had an appointment with her pediatrician on Tuesday to adjust her ADHD meds (we bumped her up to 15mg of Focalin a month ago and it was too much). I called them Monday morning to let them know about her finger and that she had an appointment. They told me that the doctor she's seeing had a heart attack and open heart surgery the day before. OK, so since we live in a very small town, I had to scramble to get her in with another doctor. I managed to get her in with one of the other 2 doctors on Wednesday. They put her in a splint that wraps over the tip of the finger and goes all the way down the other side. They also put the splint around the ring finger to give the pinky more protection from impact. I was MUCH happier with that than I would have been a cast. It actually protects the pinky, and it a snap to remove and replace. Yay! She has to see him again on the 14th. He will Xray it again and see if the splint is ready to come off.

On to the Summer Camp part of my update. Bailyn wants to go to camp. No, not day camp...she does that every summer. She wants to SPEND A WEEK AWAY FROM HOME. My child, who I've never been separated from for more than 36 hours, is saying she wants to go to Girl Scout camp. Notice my phrasing in the previous sentence. Other than a few minor details, I'm not really worried about her. I'm concerned about fact that the bath house will require her to walk outside for a midnight pee run. I'm concerned that, although the cabins are very close together, she will be in a cabin with 3 other girls and the adults will be in their own cabin. I keep reminding myself that they have a plan that works. They know what ages the camp is open to, and they wouldn't do it if it didn't work. She is going to have a blast with rock climbing, obstacle course, painting, clay working and on and on. No, my biggest concern is ME. We take her to camp Sunday, June 17 and pick her up the following Thursday. That's 5 days and 4 nights. O...M...G. Part of me wants to say, "YES! Five whole days of freedom!" The other, somewhat louder, part is saying, "What the hell are you going to do without her for FIVE WHOLE DAYS?! She's only 7 years old and you're sending her off! What the hell is wrong with you??" And then a third voice, calm and rational, pipes up, "You know, she asked to go. You explained that she would not see or talk to you the entire time. She seriously considered that factor and said she still wants to go. You know she's going to have a blast. You know the counselors will help her deal with any homesickness she may have. And you know she'll only have homesickness a little at bedtime. Yes, you're going to miss her. But she's not you and you're not your mother. You're not raising her to be wholly dependant on you. You're taking a much healthier role by supporting her independance and giving her guidance instead of making every decision for her and forcing her to do everything you want her to do. Like gymnastics. You really wanted her to stay with it and make the team. That was your desire and not hers. So what did you do when she wanted to quit? That's right. You explained that if she quit, she wouldn't be starting again the next month. You made it clear that her decision was final...and you respected it when she still wanted to quit. With Summer Camp, she is aware of the cons of what she is asking to do, and she still wants to go. There's really nothing to fret over."

I like this voice best.

last - next



0 comments so far