current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2008-11-11 - 10:10 p.m.
Getting ready for our trip to NYC

OK, we are 2 1/2 weeks away from our trip and counting down. This is a really big deal to us. We are serious homebodies. We never go anywhere. Really. We live an hour away from Tallahassee, FL. We've been there once since we got married 5 years ago. We're 4 hours from Atlanta, and we haven't gone up there in the entire time we've been together.

We wouldn't be going to NYC if my job wasn't sending me for training. Since the Manhattan hotel, taxi to and from the airport in NYC, mileage to Atlanta, my flight, food, etc is paid, we figured we might as well come up with the dough for their plane tickets and food and make a vacation out of it.

Soooo....we're really excited and scared out of our wits, both at the same time. We're pretty much ready with the new stuff we've bought for the cold weather we're likely to encounter up there. Bailyn and Kim are going to have a blast. Me...I'll see what I can see in the evening after my class is over.

Any tips for us?

last - next



2 comments so far


beanie - 2008-11-12 03:29:05
keep an eye on the weather at weather.com...
-------------------------------
LA - 2008-11-12 19:11:36
Invite me down for lunch, I'm less than an hour by commuter train. Otherwise, I suggest you: eat at a good Jewish deli, buy knock-off purses from street vendors, hit the Metropolitan Museum (I believe Friday nights are free admission), take the subway just for the heck of it, be not afraid of Times Square- it's totally safe and Disney-fied, have cheesecake at Lindy's, go for dim sum in Chinatown and then investigate all those hole-in-the-wall shops, go to the top of the Empire State building, take a carriage ride through Central Park, keep tabs on your purse and wallet but do hang out and listen to street musicians, ice skating at Rockerfeller Centre is pricey but fun, and gawk like a rube- nobody cares if you do. Have BIG fun! ~LA
-------------------------------