current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2008-12-09 - 9:41 p.m.
Back from NYC/Bailyn's ITBS

Whew! NYC was...something. It was busy, crazy, exhilirating, terrifying...and every other extreme adjective you can think of. It was wonderful, but I'm glad to be back. Shocking, but Kim misses it. A lot. He mentions it every evening. I finally asked him tonight if he was thinking of putting in to move. He answered slowly, "No...not with the economy the way it is." I said, "Later? When things are better?" He says, "Uhhhh....maybe?!" This man of mine never fails to amaze me. It's so funny that we pulled a complete role reversal with the trip. I was the neurotic, terrified one. He was the one enjoying the excitement. How freaking odd.
___________________________

Bailyn got her ITBS scores back yesterday. I'm so proud of our girl. She totally rocked it. Here are her percentiles (meaning she did as well as or better than x percent of other 3rd graders across the nation:
Reading - 77
Language - 84
Math - 96
Social Studies - 67
Science - 99
Sources of information - 89
Composite (Overall) - 93

Because of her math and composite (they also noted her science, but it doesn't count as meeting one of the criteria), they sent home a permission form for her to be evaluated for the gifted program. I signed it and sent it back to the school. I also talked to the gifted program person at her school today. She told me that they've had Bailyn's name on a list since last Spring's CRCT scores came back, but they were waiting on the national test (CRCT is a GA test only) that they could use to meet criteria. They're going to start the evaluation process after the holidays. They have 4 criteria they use to evaluate kids: national test (ITBS counts), Mental Ability (an IQ test), Creativity (as measured by teachers), and Motivation (also measured by teachers). They have to meet 3 of the 4.

I was concerned about the fallout for Bailyn if she's evaluated and doesn't make it. I really liked the woman at the school. She said that we'd put a lot of emphasis on the fact that she definitely falls into the high achieving category and not so much on her possibly being gifted. As long as we're careful not to shame her if she doesn't make it, I'm all for it. It's funny...How in the hell do we go from being on the cusp of repeating 1st grade to being evaluated for the gifted program in a short 16 months?! Even when she was struggling in reading, we suspected it was only a matter of will. Leave it to my kid...

last - next



4 comments so far


Ro - 2008-12-10 03:07:59
We had Bailey tested last year (2nd grade is the first year they'll test). We debated on the test or wait a year question for a while. My mom finally said, "If he qualifies, wouldn't you rather he start getting special services now, rather than in another year?" That was the clincher on our decision. Here they only consider IQ scores. He has so many of the qualities of a gifted student, including that "head in the clouds" thing. He didn't qualify based on IQ alone. I was worried that he'd be upset, but he wasn't. So, that was a novel...but basically it was meant to say "We've been there, and I understand."
-------------------------------
catsoul - 2008-12-10 12:08:24
Hi, kids who are gifted, alot of times I bored in school, so they don't even want to do the work at the grade level, hence, for your daughter, troubles in 1st grade. They tend to focus on an interest and do this in-depth for however long it takes for them to digest the information, then they move on to another topic, hence again, avoiding doing the current homework or whatever has been assigned to them. Wishing you all a great journey...it will be awesome...from a mom who has a creative son!!! Humor is a good thing. =^..^=
-------------------------------
mia. - 2008-12-10 17:09:12
Oh! I'm so proud of our girl... Not only is she brilliant, but I am truly amazed at her math and science skills. Give her a big hug from me!!!
-------------------------------
Terri T - 2008-12-10 21:16:48
That's great news. My nephew has been in the gifted program for several years and was inducted into the Junior High National Honor Society last year. Who knew? Wonderful achievement for your daughter.
-------------------------------