current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2008-12-31 - 8:29 p.m.
Fallen off the face of the Earth!

Damn, who fast-forwarded through December?! Hand me the remote. Give it here! OK, that's better. Now let's see if we can get back to doing this right. Going to try to say something every day in 2009, even if it's just a "Hi, I'm still breathing" type message.

Let's see what happened this month...

We seem to have resolved the adoption question. No.

He has been off work with Bailyn. I just about had to beat the hell out of him because he slept until I forced him to get up the first 2 days they were off together. I reamed him out for being irresponsible and untrustworthy and making me worry while I was trying to work. We had it out over that. I let him know that neglecting Bailyn and leaving her by herself all day was unacceptable, and that I should not have to call and have Bailyn wake him and then call back to make sure he got up. I also informed him that this breach of trust was worse than if he'd cheated on me. Mistreating the offspring is NOT an option. I told him that it wasn't type of thing that can forgiven like flipping a switch and that he was going to have to prove to me that he could be a responsible dad. I warned him that it would probably take a while before I trusted his judgment again.

During the course of this long-ass discussion, the issue of Wayne came up. The detailing of that conversation isn't really important, except that he made the comment that he was never going to be a biological father. That threw me into a tailspin. I told him that I thought he didn't want any more kids, but that we would do it if that's what he wanted. This was a week ago. I've located a place in North Georgia that has very good success rates in tubal ligation reversal, and I've explained to him that our chances of success right now are around 75%, but that it'll drop to 62% when I turn 31, so we need to do it this year if that's what he wants. He says that he didn't mean that he wants a kid of his own, but that he was referring to the fact that he was never going to be Bailyn's biological father, that there would always be an other person hovering in the wings. He says he misspoke. I'm telling him I'm scared it was a Freudian slip and he needs to really evaluate how he feels. If he wants to procreate, but he's scared of the finances or the change in the family dynamic, then we need to go ahead and do this. The changes will somehow work themselves out. He says again that's not what he meant. *sigh* Very, very scary stuff.

We're planning to get a new dog. We've agreed to make our move in early March. Pup or older dog, I don't know.

Ick. Kim's friend and his wife are here. Better run.

last - next



1 comments so far


terri t - 2009-01-01 18:56:28
You know, I haven't been reading you very long so I am sure a lot of the back story is beyond me but. I was wondering if some family counseling might be of use....maybe he is just afraid that he can't be the type of parent your daughter needs so he doesn't try as hard? Good luck with the dog...an older one should be housebroke but a puppy can be so cute....
-------------------------------