current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2009-01-01 - 10:49 p.m.
2009!

Ah, welcome to 2009 - the year my sweet Bailyn turns 9, I turn 30, and Kim and I mark our 5 year anniversary.

Bailyn will be 9 this year! We're halfway done. She'll be starting 4th grade in August. Jeez.

I'll be 30 in late August. How'd that happen?! I'm not at all traumatized by the thought....it's more like shock than trauma. How did I get to be 30 already?! I was just in high school, like, a week ago. Being thirty seems so...official. Like I'm a bona fide adult or something. Does this mean I have to grow up and act my age? Nah....!

Kim and I have been married 5 years on January 16. We've been together for 7, which leads me to my next topic.

In order to be completely fair to Kim, I need to address Terri's comment to everyone in case everyone is thinking the same thing. Kim is really the only daddy Bailyn has ever known. Wayne was in the wings when she was a tot, but he kept himself only in the wings. Kim is a great dad. Usually. With Wayne, it never once felt right to refer to Bailyn as "our" daughter. She was always MY daughter. With Kim, it has only once felt wrong to refer to her as our daughter. That's what threw me so much. I know he loves to sleep in, but to allow himself to lose track of time like that when he was on duty was mind-blowing. He fully acknowledges that he majorly screwed up. Yes, she's able to get food for herself and tend to her basic needs, but it's not good for her to be alone for hours on end. He's with me on this one. I can't say what was going on in his head, but I don't think he'll make the same mistake again.

As for counseling, I've been seeing the therapist again. Kim and I first went to see her shortly after we got married for some marriage counseling. We had to learn to be a couple. Then, before Bailyn went on ADHD meds, she saw the therapist for several months. I've been going since the week after we got back from NYC to help me deal with the adoption issue. Kim is going to go to my session Monday to discuss and close the trying again issue. He still says he didn't mean that he wants to try again, and we've agreed that he needs to talk to her to make sure he is sure. We'll also touch on his screw-up with Bailyn.

As for the dog, that's exactly our dilemma. Puppies are so freaking cute. They're also babies, and just as much work as they are cute. Older dogs make up for their lost cuteness with useful knowledge (such as being housebroken). We do know we're getting the dog from an animal shelter or rescue group. Petfinder.com will be an invaluable tool.

I'm stepping away from the keyboard now. The vodka is making it hard to type, and I don't need to be drunk typing any more than I need to be drunk dialing.

last - next



1 comments so far


sarah - 2009-01-02 06:59:53
I just wanted to say Hi, and that I love your diary. I've been reading it all night, LoL. Which kinda makes me sound a bit stalker-ish. Anyways, keep up the good writing.
-------------------------------