current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2009-01-02 - 9:45 p.m.
Funny Looking Dogs

I am having a grand time looking at pictures of different dog breeds. Granted, I'm doing serious research in an effort to choose our mutt wisely. Some of the shit I'm turning up is worthy of some good belly laughs.

Photobucket

The Mexican Hairless. Fucker looks like its father was an opossum. 'Nuff said.

Photobucket

Chinese Crested. And I thought I was suffering from a bad hair lifetime.

Photobucket

Komondor. Dude! It's a walking mop!

Photobucket

Shar Pei. The pups look like oversized grubs.

Photobucket

Bowzer. We've now moved into the "designer dog" category. Apparently, it's now a lucrative business decision for breeders to let their schnauzers and basset hounds hang out.

Photobucket

Bassador. Gotta let the labs hang out with the Bassets, too. Look at those stumpy legs on a lab body! ROFL.

There are tons more hybrids listed. It's not just Bassets. WTF are people thinking?! I can see spending tons of money on good purebreds. If I was going to buy a purebred, I'd spend a good chunk of change in order to have the best chance that the problems associated with whatever breed had been eliminated. However, I cannot see spending as much or more on a MUTT. It depends on which breeds you're mixing, but you lower the chance of genetic problems when you mix breeds. Hate to bulldoze the party, but when you mix breeds, you have a mutt. Not a labradoodle, bulloxer, pookimo, doxle, or a peagle.

All that being said, I've got a bit of a crush on fucked up looking hybrids. When the time comes, look for us to turn up with an odd looking creature.

last - next



2 comments so far


beanie - 2009-01-03 03:40:40
If you want a mutt, go to a shelter and look at their puppies!! There's a Komondor here in San Diego that I see now and then. Beautiful dog, but I would hate the hair issues....
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-03 18:13:19
That Komondor looks like it would be a smelly dog....especially if that hair was wet most of the time. I have to say the Bowser was cute...at least as a puppy. I like mixed dogs too, mutts are the best when you are looking for that special "face"....
-------------------------------