current
older
e-mail
diaryland

I'm a 29 year old chick living in the South. I'm married to Kim - happily married most of the time. Our daughter is 8-year-old Bailyn. I work in the I.S. Department of a nearby hospital. Oh, and I'm a pagan living in the Bible Belt.

I love reading, cuddling with Kim and Bailyn, working with computers, playing The Sims 2, and waiting anxiously for the release of Sims 3. Photobucket

2009-01-03 - 8:03 p.m.
The Twilight books

I haven't commented on them after the 1st one. I've read all four of them, and I have to say...they're excellent. They suck you in and keep you until the very end. I really like the way the series ended. I can't say enough to express how great they are. It doesn't matter if you like vampire stories or whatever. It's...I don't know...a Girls Club requirement. You know how all girls love "Steel Magnolias" and "Dirty Dancing" from the first second they lay eyes on them? It's the same with the Twilight books.

I tested this theory by giving the first book to my Assistant Director for Christmas. If a chick could resist it, she would be the one. She started reading it Christmas morning and finished it the following afternoon. She couldn't get her hands on the second one over the weekend, so I brought it to her on Monday. She brought it back Tuesday. She told me her 19 year old daughter stayed up with her almost all night. She was working on New Moon, and her daughter was working on Twilight. I told her to keep New Moon so her daughter could read it. She told me that her daughter was a slow reader, so it would be awhile before she finished it. I came home at lunch and got the last two for her. She came in Wednesday morning saying that she didn't get to read the night before, but that her daughter stayed up and was almost through with Twilight. I just smiled and pulled New Moon out of my desk drawer. Her daughter came by at lunch to get it. Heh heh. Anyone can be a fast reader - with the right motivation. I don't know where they are now. I was off Thursday and Friday. If I had to guess, I'd say my Asst. Director is on the last half of the last one, and her daughter is on the first half of the third one.

Anyway, if you've been holding out - give it up. Get them and read! You won't be sorry!!!

last - next



3 comments so far


Ro - 2009-01-04 03:44:21
Ha! Again, we share a brain. I just bought the first two books. I have 2 other books that I'm going to read first, so I won't start them until next weekend. I'll let you know what I think.
-------------------------------
Laura - 2009-01-04 04:05:55
You know, they really have become like Dirty Dancing and Steel Magnolias (both of which I love, of course). Those books have completely turned me back into a 15-year-old girl (Team Jacob t-shirt and Edward and Bella poster and all). Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed them.
-------------------------------
terri t - 2009-01-04 20:33:12
I have been resisting them. My sister has all 4 but she lives in Texas. Shew as going to give me the 2nd and 3rd but I wanted to start with #1 and she had loaned it out. So...maybe I will get them when I visit her later this summer or maybe I will get them at the library.
-------------------------------